PDA

View Full Version : Help

Burnout18
05-17-2004, 05:12 PM
I want to start remixing, what software should i buy, i have turntables but they're old and it seems everyone else uses computers now.

Thanks

landos_dad
05-17-2004, 05:35 PM
I seriously recommend at having a try at using FL Studio.
The program is massive. For me, as a programmer I have found nothing else yet that comes close. Programming midi, automation and routing effects through it's 64 channel mixer is a piece of piss (with practice of course).
For it's price, it is a steal. This application is way under priced and I think the developers are realizing it too as they have just whacked up the price for one of it's plugins.
There are a few other apps in that price range like Reason or maybe Acid. Reason is great also, but I found it limited in respect to plugin effects and instruments on offer. Acid? well apart from maybe the pitch shifting looping... there's nothing else I can get from it.

Of course, I am talking about a completely computerized setup here, but without spending an absolute fortune, you can great pro sounding music with minimal equipment like a computer and a music creation tool like FL Studio.

Checkout FL Studio.com (http://www.flstudio.com)

Burnout18
05-17-2004, 06:40 PM
Nice, thanks a lot man, ill look into it.

scuba_suit
05-17-2004, 07:13 PM
gotta laptop or pc? fuck all that nonsense, download pro-tools 5 (it's free from the digidesign website but gotta have win98) to start, me, i have that and cool edit pro (yeah i know, it's a wave editor, but i don't care...) and i've done a couple of albums on it, in fact here's the link to my latest, i'd like to get some feedback on it:
scuba_suit: music to chop your chicken to (http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/scubasuit)