PDA

View Full Version : Zionism

DroppinScience
09-01-2004, 09:38 PM
Ok, there's always talk of Zionism coming up here and there, and it's usually used in a derogatory tone.

In this thread I'm asking: Is Zionism really a bad thing or is it just the way that it's presently being practiced the bad thing?

Though I'm not an expert, the way I see Zionism defined is that you're a believer in the creation of a Jewish state. All righty then, fair enough.

Now there are Jews who are Zionists and there are Jews who are not Zionists. I respect either opinion that Jews hold when it comes to that issue.

Now as far as the policies of Sharon or Netanyahu, I am absolutely opposed to them and you won't get any arguments from me that their visions are woefully warped and certainly help encourage the squalor of the Palestinians' lives and Israeli civilians killed in terrorist attacks.

But when you attach the agendas of Sharon to Zionism and equate the two as bad, aren't you doing Zionism a disservice? The Labor party in Israel would be Zionist I'd assume, but they certainly seem to be level-headed and only want to bring about positive change.

Any clarifications you guys have would be very much appreciated. Thanks for reading!

DroppinScience
09-01-2004, 09:51 PM
African-American people never got their 40 acres and a mule, why should the Jews get their own country?

Compensation for the holocaust?

Technically you're wrong. What about countries like Liberia? That country is made up of descendents of African-American slaves.

Now will someone concisely answer my question?

mcaismyhero
09-01-2004, 09:52 PM
African-American people never got their 40 acres and a mule, why should the Jews get their own country?

Compensation for the holocaust?