PDA

View Full Version : FLAT. OUT. BROKE.

na§tee
08-24-2006, 03:28 AM
okay, so i have been working as a press office type-person for a couple of months now. maybe a bit more. it is, on paper, a "temp" job, but that word makes me shudder with fear and repulsion, so i don't use it. i have to temp in between my film and tv jobs (although this actually hasn't evolved into a plural since i finished the film i was working on at christmas, blah!) or i would be screwed financially. freelancing is hard, yo!

so this job is better than other crappy temp jobs i've had. it's actually a skill, something that i've done before, and something that might be useful should i pack in the film & tv shit and settle for a crappy dealing with journalists and writing stories about your business/whatever career.

the pay is bad, for a graduate, but hey. i work 35 hours a week at £6.50/hour.

according to my wage slip i have earned £2086.50 since i started working here.

went to the bank this morning? what's in my account? (after i request the £40 i need to go to dinner this eve and it was rejected so i settle for £30) a BIG FAT ZERO! ZERO!

ZERO doesn't mean zero in a traditionally sense. oh no no no! it means my balance is MINUS £1,800. fucking overdrafts!

where the fuck did i spend all that money? (and before some smart ass comes out with "just don't go out for dinner!" the dinner is a special occasion - and it's fucking CARIBBEAN THEMED so WHO COULD SAY NO? - and i haven't been out for dinner in oooh, 14 months or so. fuckit. and it was booked months ago) i have nothing to show for it.

i know i spent lots the past couple of weeks on a wedding and stuff but still, come on! it's like i've earnt minus points by working here!

i think i will have to start a bloody excel file to keep tracks of my finances. EXCEL! that is, like, almost an adult thing to do.