Go Back   Beastie Boys Message Board > Beastie Boys > Remixes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2004, 04:33 PM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default tempos (bpm's)

list all the tempos here, especially hey ladies. i can't figure it out



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2004, 05:24 PM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nygel
, especially hey ladies. i can't figure it out
102bpm?



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2004, 06:13 PM
mightyDL's Avatar
mightyDL mightyDL is offline
3MTA3
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5
Default Re: tempos

Yup, I have 101.8 bpm for Hey Ladies. For which other tracks do you want tempos?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2004, 06:44 PM
Nick Jade Nick Jade is offline
Super Dope Robot Supreme
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 123
Default Re: tempos

Ch-check it out is 115.



Obey Giant

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2004, 02:14 AM
Taco Zip's Avatar
Taco Zip Taco Zip is offline
(`.,.-
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Holland
Posts: 897
Default Re: tempos

So watcha want 85,4
Alive 100.9
Shake your rump 103
intergalactic 105.9
root down 100
sure shot 97.9
pass the mic 83.9
spam 89.1
IAWGM 99,8
limerick file 102
hold it now 98.5
3 the hard way 93
open letter to nyc 93.7
time to build 95
hey fuck you 96
oh word 98
rhyme the rhyme well 100
right right now now 101
ch-check it out 115
all lifestyles 117
we got the 122


notice how almost all TT5B songs have rounded bpm numbers.



Rest in peace MCA. Thanks for the inspiration.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2004, 01:29 PM
scuba_suit's Avatar
scuba_suit scuba_suit is offline
clam shucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: undersea with spongebob EXCEPT i live in a tire
Posts: 40
Default Re: tempos

this was mad helpful, how'd you guys figure it out?



AUTOMATE!
scuba_suit

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:34 PM
DeeJayZap's Avatar
DeeJayZap DeeJayZap is offline
auxfnx.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,810
Default Re: tempos

Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_f View Post
I've always wanted to pass out on one of those moving sidewalks at the airport so I could wake up to forward progress.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:24 PM
moww's Avatar
moww moww is offline
Hi!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New England's very own black hole
Posts: 67
Default Re: tempos

when I did the acapella of alive mine turned out to be 101.012
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2004, 06:04 AM
nobbus nobbus is offline
wtf
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 192
Default Re: tempos

if you cant work out the BPM of an acapella you can always work it out using the original track.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Audielicious
On Saved By The Bell, Screech's mom was played by Ruth Buzzi. And in the new Spin article, in one of the pictures Mike D. is dressed up as an old lady and the caption says that it's his Aunt, Ruth Buzzi Diamond.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:41 PM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default Re: tempos

...whats body movins?i would do it myself, but this is the thread for tempoes



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-14-2004, 06:47 AM
moww's Avatar
moww moww is offline
Hi!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New England's very own black hole
Posts: 67
Default Re: tempos

98.6



Bitches ain't shit but good people
My Website:
www.1-800-MASTER.com
My Music:
RegAn.1-800-MASTER.com

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-14-2004, 09:34 AM
sonick's Avatar
sonick sonick is offline
(I)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 5
Default Re: tempos

gotta wing it, there is drift in every rig and everything is subjective from spindle to meter-bridge. Are you trying to sync the track with higher resolution or just flip it on wax ? You should be able to lock down your list in <hour if you have all the tracks ready, though I can see how it'd be handy to ask to get near the figure if you're just spinning it. If you can't detect it and omit it's double/half-time twin as a candidate in a few seconds, you weren't born with your quantize on. No disrespect. If you're trying to lock the track for composition I could PM ya some tricks.
J



Hutton..............Shhhh!

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:25 AM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default Re: tempos

BUMP



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:31 PM
one33one's Avatar
one33one one33one is offline
From Parts Unknown
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 26
Default Re: tempos

How do you do BPM's that are not rounded? say 90.8 BPM as opposed to just 90 BMP. I am using Fruity Loops and as far as I can tell, it only does round/whole BPM's (such as 90 BPM's). Is there a special formula you use for the percentage to stretch or shrink it to the correct length of loop you need in something like Cool Edit 2.0 to get the correct BPM?

I can't for the life of me, figure out how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:41 PM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

FL Studio or Fruityloops as it was once known.. does let you change the tempo/bpm to the fraction. Look at it...it's default tempo setting is 140.000.
Hover your mouse over the ".000" part and you will see an up/down arrow mouse icon. Click, hold and drag the numbers to your desired tempo.

So, for example, 98.8 bpm... will be 98.800 in FL



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:23 PM
one33one's Avatar
one33one one33one is offline
From Parts Unknown
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 26
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by landos_dad
FL Studio or Fruityloops as it was once known.. does let you change the tempo/bpm to the fraction. Look at it...it's default tempo setting is 140.000.
Hover your mouse over the ".000" part and you will see an up/down arrow mouse icon. Click, hold and drag the numbers to your desired tempo.

So, for example, 98.8 bpm... will be 98.800 in FL
Ah, I have a copy of Fruityloops 3 Full Final (befroe FL studio). So I am not sure if that is where the difference is because it only shows whole BPM's. If there is a way to view the ".000" I can't seem to find it. Any suggestions? Where can I get a copy of FL Studio? Or is there another program that will do the same thing. I also have an old copy of Rebirth but it isn't as versatile and is only in whole BPM's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:32 PM
The Wedge's Avatar
The Wedge The Wedge is offline
geTTin RoPe YaLL!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jersey
Posts: 35
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by one33one
Ah, I have a copy of Fruityloops 3 Full Final (befroe FL studio). So I am not sure if that is where the difference is because it only shows whole BPM's. If there is a way to view the ".000" I can't seem to find it. Any suggestions? Where can I get a copy of FL Studio? Or is there another program that will do the same thing. I also have an old copy of Rebirth but it isn't as versatile and is only in whole BPM's as well.
just bring it into acid and use the beatmapper to find the bpm. Then just change the bpm of the whole project and export it. Or you can use wavelab or something to change the bpm.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-22-2004, 01:51 AM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by one33one
Ah, I have a copy of Fruityloops 3 Full Final (befroe FL studio). So I am not sure if that is where the difference is because it only shows whole BPM's. If there is a way to view the ".000" I can't seem to find it. Any suggestions? Where can I get a copy of FL Studio? Or is there another program that will do the same thing. I also have an old copy of Rebirth but it isn't as versatile and is only in whole BPM's as well.
Aaah, I see. I'm sure there's a way though. See what options you get when right clicking the tempo. Best thing to do is upgrade to FL Studio/Fruityloops 4... registered users get free upgrades for life... that's assuming you are a registered user.
Fruity 3 is a bit ancient now



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-22-2004, 03:19 AM
DJ_Skrilla's Avatar
DJ_Skrilla DJ_Skrilla is offline
Grand Master OG Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: P-Town [Westcoast]
Posts: 1,062
Exclamation Re: tempos

check it out 115
triple trouble 110
So watcha want 85.5
Hey ladies 102
Alive 101
Shake your rump 103.5
intergalactic 106
root down 100
sure shot 98
pass the mic 84
spam 89
IAWGM 100
limerick file 102

those should all work. dont get too technical,
u can all surely match them up with a good ear....
use the force luke.



STILL PRAYIN' FOR YAUCH

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:22 AM
one33one's Avatar
one33one one33one is offline
From Parts Unknown
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 26
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by landos_dad
Aaah, I see. I'm sure there's a way though. See what options you get when right clicking the tempo. Best thing to do is upgrade to FL Studio/Fruityloops 4... registered users get free upgrades for life... that's assuming you are a registered user.
Fruity 3 is a bit ancient now

Let's just say I got Fruity Loops 3 from a "friend". Which version of FL Studio do you use? I noticed there are something like 4 levels from Express to Producer? Will Express, the $50 version, do the trick for making beats? I just use Cool Edit 2 to slap eveything together after exporting the loops anyway. I would like to stick with FL Studio because it appears to be similar to the old Fruity Loops I have and I finally have that down fairly well.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-22-2004, 09:14 AM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by one33one
Let's just say I got Fruity Loops 3 from a "friend". Which version of FL Studio do you use? I noticed there are something like 4 levels from Express to Producer? Will Express, the $50 version, do the trick for making beats? I just use Cool Edit 2 to slap eveything together after exporting the loops anyway. I would like to stick with FL Studio because it appears to be similar to the old Fruity Loops I have and I finally have that down fairly well.
Express edition will let you tweak the tempo by the fraction, yes (by the way I'm certain this feature is evident in version 3, have you checked the helpfiles (F1)?).
Here's a FL feature list comparison page > FL Comparison page

I personally would get the full FL Studio Producer Edition. The slimmer versions lack some very handy tools. Like full routing and parametric EQing in the Mixer, audio wave sequencing and Express lacks the important Piano Roll where you would program chords etc.



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-22-2004, 10:31 AM
one33one's Avatar
one33one one33one is offline
From Parts Unknown
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 26
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by landos_dad
Express edition will let you tweak the tempo by the fraction, yes (by the way I'm certain this feature is evident in version 3, have you checked the helpfiles (F1)?).
Here's a FL feature list comparison page > FL Comparison page

I personally would get the full FL Studio Producer Edition. The slimmer versions lack some very handy tools. Like full routing and parametric EQing in the Mixer, audio wave sequencing and Express lacks the important Piano Roll where you would program chords etc.
I tried right clicking on the tempo and all you get is a menu that has a list of BPM's faster and slower that what you currently have it set at and a feature that says something to the effect of "twice as slow". Unfortunately the help files that normally come with the program via F1 were not included in the version I have because someone at some point probably deleted them to cut the program size down possibly. I will take a look at the help files for FL Studio on the website to see if I can't figure it out. Maybe I have a cracked trial version instead of the real thing. Thanks for the help.

Last edited by one33one : 07-22-2004 at 10:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-22-2004, 06:38 PM
MarkedCube's Avatar
MarkedCube MarkedCube is offline
Squared on all sides!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Windy City
Posts: 286
Default Re: tempos

Someone should post Triple Trouble on here, lets keep this thread up to date.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-22-2004, 07:19 PM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkedCube
Someone should post Triple Trouble on here, lets keep this thread up to date.
The tempo? It is



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:03 PM
nobbus nobbus is offline
wtf
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 192
Default Re: tempos

why on earth would anyone want FLstudio without the piano roll?

good luck trying to make music when youre limited to 16ths...



Quote:
Originally Posted by Audielicious
On Saved By The Bell, Screech's mom was played by Ruth Buzzi. And in the new Spin article, in one of the pictures Mike D. is dressed up as an old lady and the caption says that it's his Aunt, Ruth Buzzi Diamond.

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-12-2004, 09:23 AM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default Re: tempos

*caugh*



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-12-2004, 09:43 AM
Nick Jade Nick Jade is offline
Super Dope Robot Supreme
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 123
Default Re: tempos

I got Triple Trouble at 110.005. I could be wrong. Taco can you confirm?



Obey Giant

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-15-2004, 04:21 PM
DeeJayZap's Avatar
DeeJayZap DeeJayZap is offline
auxfnx.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,810
Default Re: tempos

I know this is MAD late but anyone got Paul Revere & The New Style.



Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_f View Post
I've always wanted to pass out on one of those moving sidewalks at the airport so I could wake up to forward progress.

Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-17-2004, 11:44 AM
ScarySquirrel's Avatar
ScarySquirrel ScarySquirrel is offline
Douchebag Frat Boy
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 3,230
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taco Zip
notice how almost all TT5B songs have rounded bpm numbers.
It's bound to happen when you do most of your production exclusively in a computer box. Those silly dudes.



I made $970,000 last year. How much you make? You see pal, that's who I am, and you're nothing.
Nice guy? I don't give a shit.
Good father? Fuck you! Go home and play with your kids.

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-17-2004, 03:43 PM
tpk tpk is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 1992
Location: bboys mb
Posts: 9,452
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

thought i'd stick this one.



BeastieBoys.com

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2012 Beastie Boys