Go Back   Beastie Boys Message Board > Beastie Boys > Remixes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2004, 04:33 PM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default tempos (bpm's)

list all the tempos here, especially hey ladies. i can't figure it out



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2004, 05:24 PM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nygel
, especially hey ladies. i can't figure it out
102bpm?



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2004, 06:13 PM
mightyDL's Avatar
mightyDL mightyDL is offline
3MTA3
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5
Default Re: tempos

Yup, I have 101.8 bpm for Hey Ladies. For which other tracks do you want tempos?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2004, 06:44 PM
Nick Jade Nick Jade is offline
Super Dope Robot Supreme
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 123
Default Re: tempos

Ch-check it out is 115.



Obey Giant

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2004, 02:14 AM
Taco Zip's Avatar
Taco Zip Taco Zip is offline
(¯`·.,¸¸.-»
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Holland
Posts: 899
Default Re: tempos

So watcha want 85,4
Alive 100.9
Shake your rump 103
intergalactic 105.9
root down 100
sure shot 97.9
pass the mic 83.9
spam 89.1
IAWGM 99,8
limerick file 102
hold it now 98.5
3 the hard way 93
open letter to nyc 93.7
time to build 95
hey fuck you 96
oh word 98
rhyme the rhyme well 100
right right now now 101
ch-check it out 115
all lifestyles 117
we got the 122


notice how almost all TT5B songs have rounded bpm numbers.



Rest in peace MCA. Thanks for the inspiration.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2004, 01:29 PM
scuba_suit's Avatar
scuba_suit scuba_suit is offline
clam shucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: undersea with spongebob EXCEPT i live in a tire
Posts: 40
Default Re: tempos

this was mad helpful, how'd you guys figure it out?



AUTOMATE!
scuba_suit

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:34 PM
DeeJayZap's Avatar
DeeJayZap DeeJayZap is offline
auxfnx.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,810
Default Re: tempos

Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_f View Post
I've always wanted to pass out on one of those moving sidewalks at the airport so I could wake up to forward progress.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:24 PM
moww's Avatar
moww moww is offline
Hi!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New England's very own black hole
Posts: 67
Default Re: tempos

when I did the acapella of alive mine turned out to be 101.012
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2004, 06:04 AM
nobbus nobbus is offline
wtf
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 192
Default Re: tempos

if you cant work out the BPM of an acapella you can always work it out using the original track.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Audielicious
On Saved By The Bell, Screech's mom was played by Ruth Buzzi. And in the new Spin article, in one of the pictures Mike D. is dressed up as an old lady and the caption says that it's his Aunt, Ruth Buzzi Diamond.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2004, 11:44 AM
ScarySquirrel's Avatar
ScarySquirrel ScarySquirrel is offline
Douchebag Frat Boy
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 3,230
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taco Zip
notice how almost all TT5B songs have rounded bpm numbers.
It's bound to happen when you do most of your production exclusively in a computer box. Those silly dudes.



I made $970,000 last year. How much you make? You see pal, that's who I am, and you're nothing.
Nice guy? I don't give a shit.
Good father? Fuck you! Go home and play with your kids.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-17-2004, 03:43 PM
tpk tpk is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 1992
Location: bboys mb
Posts: 9,452
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

thought i'd stick this one.



BeastieBoys.com

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2004, 05:00 PM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default Re: tempos

great idea tpk



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-17-2004, 05:31 PM
tpk tpk is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 1992
Location: bboys mb
Posts: 9,452
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nygel
great idea tpk
you're just happy cause you got your own sticky thread.



BeastieBoys.com

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-17-2004, 06:22 PM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by tpk
you're just happy cause you got your own sticky thread.
yeah



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:40 PM
DeeJayZap's Avatar
DeeJayZap DeeJayZap is offline
auxfnx.com
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,810
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

Tempo's I have so far:

paul revere: 91.2
so watcha want: 85.4
alive: 100.9
shake your rump: 103
intergalactic: 105.9
root down: 100
sure shot: 97.9
pass the mic 83.9
spam: 89.1
IAWGM: 99.8
limerick file: 102
hold it now: 98.5
3 the hard way: 93
open letter to nyc: 93.7
time to build: 95
hey fuck you: 96
oh word: 98
rhyme the rhyme well: 100
right right now now: 101
ch-check it out: 115
all lifestyles: 117
we got the: 122
triple trouble 110
hey ladies 102



Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_f View Post
I've always wanted to pass out on one of those moving sidewalks at the airport so I could wake up to forward progress.

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:35 AM
thedjphat's Avatar
thedjphat thedjphat is offline
dj ph@
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 39
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

Had issues making Super Disco Breakin work at 100 bpm, not sure what i missed there. Help?



http://highpass.studioeclection.com
Free MP3 hosting and all kinds of cool features.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-31-2006, 07:45 AM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedjphat
Had issues making Super Disco Breakin work at 100 bpm, not sure what i missed there. Help?
the downbeat is when he says "Fifty" (cups of coffee) so if u didnt have the first beat hit when he said that, thats the prob.



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:14 PM
thedjphat's Avatar
thedjphat thedjphat is offline
dj ph@
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
Posts: 39
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nygel
the downbeat is when he says "Fifty" (cups of coffee) so if u didnt have the first beat hit when he said that, thats the prob.
Thanks man



http://highpass.studioeclection.com
Free MP3 hosting and all kinds of cool features.

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:25 AM
Nygel's Avatar
Nygel Nygel is offline
A is for Aardvark
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: hollywood
Posts: 1,543
Default Re: tempos

BUMP



Quote:
Originally Posted by The Padster View Post
It's sad how you think you're so intelligent. You fag.

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:31 PM
one33one's Avatar
one33one one33one is offline
From Parts Unknown
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 26
Default Re: tempos

How do you do BPM's that are not rounded? say 90.8 BPM as opposed to just 90 BMP. I am using Fruity Loops and as far as I can tell, it only does round/whole BPM's (such as 90 BPM's). Is there a special formula you use for the percentage to stretch or shrink it to the correct length of loop you need in something like Cool Edit 2.0 to get the correct BPM?

I can't for the life of me, figure out how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:41 PM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

FL Studio or Fruityloops as it was once known.. does let you change the tempo/bpm to the fraction. Look at it...it's default tempo setting is 140.000.
Hover your mouse over the ".000" part and you will see an up/down arrow mouse icon. Click, hold and drag the numbers to your desired tempo.

So, for example, 98.8 bpm... will be 98.800 in FL



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:23 PM
one33one's Avatar
one33one one33one is offline
From Parts Unknown
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 26
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by landos_dad
FL Studio or Fruityloops as it was once known.. does let you change the tempo/bpm to the fraction. Look at it...it's default tempo setting is 140.000.
Hover your mouse over the ".000" part and you will see an up/down arrow mouse icon. Click, hold and drag the numbers to your desired tempo.

So, for example, 98.8 bpm... will be 98.800 in FL
Ah, I have a copy of Fruityloops 3 Full Final (befroe FL studio). So I am not sure if that is where the difference is because it only shows whole BPM's. If there is a way to view the ".000" I can't seem to find it. Any suggestions? Where can I get a copy of FL Studio? Or is there another program that will do the same thing. I also have an old copy of Rebirth but it isn't as versatile and is only in whole BPM's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:32 PM
The Wedge's Avatar
The Wedge The Wedge is offline
geTTin RoPe YaLL!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jersey
Posts: 35
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by one33one
Ah, I have a copy of Fruityloops 3 Full Final (befroe FL studio). So I am not sure if that is where the difference is because it only shows whole BPM's. If there is a way to view the ".000" I can't seem to find it. Any suggestions? Where can I get a copy of FL Studio? Or is there another program that will do the same thing. I also have an old copy of Rebirth but it isn't as versatile and is only in whole BPM's as well.
just bring it into acid and use the beatmapper to find the bpm. Then just change the bpm of the whole project and export it. Or you can use wavelab or something to change the bpm.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-20-2006, 06:21 AM
Subcomandante Subcomandante is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wedge
just bring it into acid and use the beatmapper to find the bpm. Then just change the bpm of the whole project and export it. Or you can use wavelab or something to change the bpm.
Are you sure?
I have never been able to properly timestretch a vocal for a whole acapella.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-22-2004, 01:51 AM
landos_dad's Avatar
landos_dad landos_dad is offline
guaranteed everytime
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud Cizzy, Liverpool, UK
Posts: 531
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by one33one
Ah, I have a copy of Fruityloops 3 Full Final (befroe FL studio). So I am not sure if that is where the difference is because it only shows whole BPM's. If there is a way to view the ".000" I can't seem to find it. Any suggestions? Where can I get a copy of FL Studio? Or is there another program that will do the same thing. I also have an old copy of Rebirth but it isn't as versatile and is only in whole BPM's as well.
Aaah, I see. I'm sure there's a way though. See what options you get when right clicking the tempo. Best thing to do is upgrade to FL Studio/Fruityloops 4... registered users get free upgrades for life... that's assuming you are a registered user.
Fruity 3 is a bit ancient now



Treat yourself to some of my remixes Shazam!

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-22-2004, 03:19 AM
DJ_Skrilla's Avatar
DJ_Skrilla DJ_Skrilla is offline
Grand Master OG Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: P-Town [Westcoast]
Posts: 1,062
Exclamation Re: tempos

check it out 115
triple trouble 110
So watcha want 85.5
Hey ladies 102
Alive 101
Shake your rump 103.5
intergalactic 106
root down 100
sure shot 98
pass the mic 84
spam 89
IAWGM 100
limerick file 102

those should all work. dont get too technical,
u can all surely match them up with a good ear....
use the force luke.



STILL PRAYIN' FOR YAUCH

Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:22 AM
one33one's Avatar
one33one one33one is offline
From Parts Unknown
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 26
Default Re: tempos

Quote:
Originally Posted by landos_dad
Aaah, I see. I'm sure there's a way though. See what options you get when right clicking the tempo. Best thing to do is upgrade to FL Studio/Fruityloops 4... registered users get free upgrades for life... that's assuming you are a registered user.
Fruity 3 is a bit ancient now

Let's just say I got Fruity Loops 3 from a "friend". Which version of FL Studio do you use? I noticed there are something like 4 levels from Express to Producer? Will Express, the $50 version, do the trick for making beats? I just use Cool Edit 2 to slap eveything together after exporting the loops anyway. I would like to stick with FL Studio because it appears to be similar to the old Fruity Loops I have and I finally have that down fairly well.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:42 AM
gezu gezu is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 4
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

Hello boys and girls i realised a rmx

ROOTS DOWN (Clüsters rmx)

available on www.myspace.com/theclusterslive

Listen and comments my friends

ps: bon baiser de france
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:48 PM
Guy Incognito's Avatar
Guy Incognito Guy Incognito is offline
Judge Mental
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

can i have some clarification on bboys in the cut, zap said 102 but i am getting 78! and i havent heard the original yet so i am working blind here. help!



Quote:
Originally Posted by roosta View Post
give it time, we will go in wonderous directions. mainly calling people cunts.

www.beastiemixes.com/Guy Incognito

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-14-2009, 10:52 AM
Next of Kin's Avatar
Next of Kin Next of Kin is offline
Give me the tuckus ?!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 138
Default Re: tempos (bpm's)

I had B Boys in The Cut at 102.6 bpm and it seems to work fine... but i think the original would be at 102.5 since a record rip cant be 100% accurate



My BeastieMixes Or Here

Next o´Kin in allways error
All Earz

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2012 Beastie Boys