PDA

View Full Version : The Obama Delusion

RobMoney$
02-20-2008, 08:35 PM
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/02/19/AR2008021902336.html

The Obama Delusion

By Robert J. Samuelson (http://projects.washingtonpost.com/staff/email/robert+j.+samuelson/)
Wednesday, February 20, 2008; Page A17

It's hard not to be dazzled by Barack Obama (http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/Barack+Obama?tid=informline). At the 2004 Democratic convention, he visited with Newsweek (http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/Newsweek+Inc.?tid=informline) reporters and editors, including me. I came away deeply impressed by his intelligence, his forceful language and his apparent willingness to take positions that seemed to rise above narrow partisanship. Obama has become the Democratic presidential front-runner precisely because countless millions have formed a similar opinion. It is, I now think, mistaken.

As a journalist, I harbor serious doubt about each of the most likely nominees. But with Sens. Hillary Clinton (http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/Hillary+Clinton?tid=informline) and John McCain (http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/John+McCain?tid=informline), I feel that I'm dealing with known quantities. They've been in the public arena for years; their views, values and temperaments have received enormous scrutiny. By contrast, newcomer Obama is largely a stage presence defined mostly by his powerful rhetoric. The trouble, at least for me, is the huge and deceptive gap between his captivating oratory and his actual views.